LibGuides: Accounting, Business, Economics &amp; Finance: Key Databases

Company, Financial and Industry Information

Company Profiles (from Nexis)

Explorer / GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window GlobalData Explorer is a cross-sector platform focusing on 22 industries. It combines macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, offering broad yet detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries, impacting companies and driving innovation.

Fame Private company information for active and inactive companies in the UK and Ireland
Industries and Markets (from Nexis)

Orbis VL This link opens in a new window Orbis VL provides information on public and private companies in all countries. It includes financial metrics, ownership structure, M&A data, news and research.
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window S&P Capital IQ provides access to global company data including financials, fixed income, estimates and ownership. Qualitative data includes key developments, transactions, profiles, people, relationships, private equity. Macroeconomic and commodity data is also available.
S&P Capital IQ Pro This link opens in a new window S&P Capital IQ Pro provides access to industry specific intelligence for specialized data with real-time financial news, this resource covers global institutions and emerging fintech companies, banks, credit unions and insurance companies

The following databases are only available to staff and students in Queen’s Business School. For access please contact your Programme Director.

Eikon - provided by Refinitiv, this resource facilitates the analysis of financial markets through provision of real-time data, news and ownership data. Analysis tools cover public corporations and all types of investment assets.
FT.Com – the online version of the Financial Times. For editorial of the print version search the Library Catalogue for Financial Times.
WRDS – (Wharton Research Data Service) provides access to financial, economic and marketing data, enabling historical analysis and insight into the latest innovations in academic research. Training for QUB staff and students is accessible at this link

Key Journal Databases

TIP! Designing a search strategy will save your time.

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window A comprehensive business database providing access to over 3000 publications, with more than 2000 journals and working paper series in full text. A wide range of business disciplines are covered.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is a fully searchable bibliographic and full text databases of indexed and abstracted journals covering a comprehensive range of business disciplines. With titles dating from 1886 to the present, it includes the Harvard Business Review and peer reviewed journals.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Econlit This link opens in a new window EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.
Emerald Journals Online This link opens in a new window Provides access to the full text of articles published in Emerald journals to which the Library subscribes. Specialises in business journals.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window A journal index covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window A major international database which includes a wide range of social science journals with good coverage of European material.
Scopus (Shibboleth) This link opens in a new window SCOPUS is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers nearly 20,000 academic journals from a wide range of subjects and dates from 1996 to the present. SCOPUS will also be the source of the citation data which will be used by some of the Research Excellence Framework (REF) assessment panels. As well as carrying out literature searches, you can set up current awareness alerts, view citation counts, determine your h-index and assess the quality of journal titles. SCOPUS is part of the SciVerse suite of resources which is produced by Elsevier and includes the ScienceDirect electronic journals service.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window Part of the Web of Science, this service indexes a wide range of journals in the social sciences, allows searching by article citation, and provides article abstracts.

Other Scholarly Resources

BOB This link opens in a new window BOB, powered by Learning on Screen, allows users to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts. BoB can be accessed only within the United Kingdom.

Campbell Collaboration Provides systematic reviews of research evidence in business and management. The reviews are published in Campbell Systematic Reviews journal published by Wiley.
Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS) ESDS is a national data service providing access and support for an extensive range of key economic and social data, both quantitative and qualitative, spanning many disciplines and themes. It comprises a number of specialist data services that promote and encourage data usage in teaching and research.

Economist Historical Archive 1843 - 2020 This link opens in a new window The Economist presents the worlds political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them.
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2021 This link opens in a new window The Financial Times Historical Archive is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper, since it was first published in 1888, can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.

House of Commons Library Research Politically impartial publications produced by Commons Library researchers, covering legislation, policy areas, and topical issues.

Kanopy BASE This link opens in a new window Kanopy BASE is an on-demand streaming video platform providing access to over 6,100 titles. It includes documentaries, classic cinema and independent films.

Lexis Library Full text sources for regulations and legislation. Includes FSA and Tolley's titles.

Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window Mass Observation Online makes available original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features. This resource covers the original Mass Observation project, the bulk of which was carried out from 1937 until the mid-1950s, offering an unparalleled insight into everyday life in Britain during these transformative years.

Nexis (newspapers) Provides access to local, national and international newspapers and market and industry reports with archives.

Oxford Legal Research Library Financial and Banking Law (FBL) This link opens in a new window Oxford Legal Research Library (OLRL) Financial and Banking Law (FBL) collection from Oxford University Press, includes over 50 titles covering a range of disciplines that encompass international financial practice including banking, bank resolution, risk and capital adequacy, capital markets, financial regulation, financial disputes, funds, Islamic finance, and project finance.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window An index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. PhilPapers also hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Pressreader This link opens in a new window PressReader allows you to read thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the globe.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.