Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Web Resources
American Memory from the Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC)
Established in 1991, the Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era.
British Forum for Ethnomusicology
The British Forum for Ethnomusicology (BFE) is an association formerly known as the International Council for Traditional Music (ICTM, UK Chapter). As an Affiliate National Committee to the ICTM, its aim is to advance the study, practice, documentation, preservation and dissemination of traditional music and dance, including folk, popular, classical, urban, and other genres, of all countries.
Cecilia is an on-line guide to music collections in archives, libraries and museums in the UK and Ireland.
Contemporary Music Centre Ireland
The Contemporary Music Centre is Ireland's national archive and resource centre for new music, supporting the work of composers throughout the Republic and Northern Ireland.
Irish Traditional Music Archive
A national public reference archive and resource centre for the traditional song, instrumental music and dance of Ireland.
Moving Image Gateway: Music
This Gateway includes 1,800 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been subdivided into over 40 subject areas.
Musopen is a non-profit organisation focused on increasing access to music by creating free resources and educational materials.
NMA Online (Mozart)
The purpose of this web site operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public.
OBPS (Index to Opera and Ballet Sources Online)
OBPS (Index to Opera and Ballet Sources Online) is an ongoing project aimed at indexing free online primary sources related to various forms of dramatic music in a wide variety of formats. It currently points to more than 25,000 resources including scores, sets of part, mise en scène, violon répétieurs and other violin conductor parts, souffleur parts, concert programs, some archival documents, and many librettos.
Vaughan Williams Memorial Library
The Vaughan Williams Memorial Library (VWML) is England’s national folk music and dance archive.