LibGuides: Music and Sonic Arts: Key Databases

Database Access

Most of the databases in the A-Z list are subscription databases. For all subscription access:

Always connect from a LibGuides or the catalogue link to authenticate as a Queen's student or staff member
A Queen's authentication screen will open for all 'off campus' access
Enter your Queen's student / staff number and password to access databases

Reference sources

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Includes full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. It is overseen by academic editors at Oxford University, UK, and published by Oxford University Press.
Dictionary of Irish Biography Online (DIB) This link opens in a new window The Dictionary of Irish Biography (DIB) is a project of the Royal Irish Academy. DIB provides access to over 11,000 biographical articles describing and assessing the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport of prominent men and women born in Ireland, north and south, and the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland.

Music and Sonic Arts Online Databases

Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Music Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Music Periodicals – supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with access to about 220 full-text titles and citations sourced from more than 600 music periodicals.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale abstracts of music literature is a comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world, is an indispensable tool for scholars, students, librarians, performers, teachers, and music lovers. RILM includes over 620,000 records dating from 1967. Over 30,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Performing Arts – indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. 160 publications are included in full text.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online contains in depth, high level articles written by leading scholars in their fields. They cover 17 disciplines: Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History. Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion and Sociology.
Audio Engineering Society (AES) E-Library This link opens in a new window
The AES E-library contains over 17,000 fully searchable PDF files documenting the progression of audio research from 1953 to the present day.
BOB This link opens in a new window
BOB, powered by Learning on Screen, allows users to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.
BoB can be accessed only within the United Kingdom.
RISM - Online Catalogue of Musical Sources This link opens in a new window
The RISM online catalog contains over 1,000,000 entries, mainly manuscripts from between the years 1600 and 1850. As of summer 2015, there are also ca.100,000 entries for printed music published up to 1800 by a single composer and printed collections published between 1500 and 1550. Even though the emphasis of manuscript cataloging is on the years 1600-1850, you will find both older and newer sources in the online catalog. It continues to grow through monthly updates and averages around 30,000 new records annually.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracting and indexing for more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals, and coverage of disciplines that includes social and natural science journals. Part of the Web of Science.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that enables discovery, access, and preservation of scholarly content. It enables access to a full-text journals.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text online access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Check 'detailed holdings' for journal availability.
Kanopy BASE This link opens in a new window
Kanopy BASE is an on-demand streaming video platform providing access to over 6,100 titles. It includes documentaries, classic cinema and independent films.