Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding journal articles and research papers
If you want to do a quick search for a few journal articles, use Article Search
or an ejournal package such as Science Direct
. They will deliver the full-text immediately. If you want to do a comprehensive search
, use the databases
below because they have wider coverage and more search options.
Some of the databases contain full-text documents but, for those which don't, you will need to use the QConnect service to link from the database to the full-text elsewhere on the web.
The databases cover many more items than are available from the Library but if you find a paper which you cannot access, it can be requested via the Inter-Library Loans
The following ejournal packages have papers with are relevant to planning-related topics:
Access to journals published by Elsevier, including full text access to journals subscribed to by Queen's.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that enables discovery, access, and preservation of scholarly content. It enables access to a full-text journals.
Looking for a specific journal?
All the Library's ejournals are included in the A-Z List:
Journals from previous years are kept in the Journals Back Issues area opposite the main stairs on each floor. Go to:
Floor 1 for shelfmarks A-H
Floor 2 for shelfmarks I-P
Floor 3 for shelfmarks Q-Z
Current journals with shelfmarks A-P are kept on the sloping shelves on Floor1 but those with shelfmarks Q-Z are kept with the back issues.
Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers nearly 20,000 academic journals from a wide range of subjects and it is particularly useful for researching engineering-related topics. Does not include PDFs of indexed literature. Please use QConnect to link to article PDFs.
Scopus tutorials (video / text-only)
The Web of Science gives access to citation databases, journals and conference proceedings with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts, and humanities. A good complement to Scopus. Does not include PDFs of indexed literature. Please use QConnect to link to article PDFs.
Web of Science Tutorial: Web of Science - search tips: (YouTube)
IBSS provides bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. A key database for research on environmental and spatial planning.
Guide to using IBSS
Planning, Architecture and Design Database Ireland: Provides bibliographic details of journal articles, books and book chapters on all aspects of the built environment in Ireland, North and South
PADDI tutorial (YouTube)
A comprehensive business database providing access to over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 journals and working paper series in full text. A wide range of business disciplines are covered.
A comprehensive business database providing access to a wide range of journals and working paper series in full text. Useful for researching commercial aspects of construction.
Provides access to the full text of over 2,000 business journals. Company information and market research literature is also available. Useful for researching commercial aspects of construction.
QCat Article Search
Use QCat Article Search to look for full-text articles by title, by author or by topic.
You can search QCat from the Library homepage, or by using the box below.
Search QCat Article Search
A.K.A. LexisNexis. Provides access to a wide range of news and business sources.
Irish Newspaper Archives
Database of regional Irish newspapers from 1800-1950.
The digital archive of the Irish Times contains exact reproductions of all articles published in the paper from 1859 onwards while the text archive has all material published on irishtimes.com from 1996.
19th Century British Library Newspapers
Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th century British society.
Keeping Up to Date
The ZETOC service will email you the tables of contents of new journal issues as they are published. It covers a wide range of subjects and you can select multiple journals.