For a comprehensive search of the research literature use one or more of the key databases (below).
The databases will provide information about articles and papers, but often they do not include the PDFs of the articles. You can use the QConnect service to link to the full-text of articles and papers in the library's subscriptions.
Please note: The key databases cover many more items than are included in the Library's subscriptions. If you find a paper which you cannot access online because the library doesn't subscribe to it, you may be able to request a copy via the Inter-Library Loans service.
Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers nearly 20,000 academic journals from a wide range of disciplines, including planning. Scopus is great for finding up to date academic journal articles and conference papers. It is a good complement to the Web of Science database (see below).
Please note: Scopus does not include PDFs of indexed literature. Please use QConnect to link to article PDFs.
Access Scopus
The makers of Scopus provide a range of online video tutorials explaining the features and functionality of this database, including:
The Web of Science is an extensive bibliographic and citation database. It covers key academic journals from all disciplines, including planning. The Web of Science is a great source of information on academic journal articles and conference papers. It is a good complement to Scopus (see above).
Please note: The Web of Science does not include PDFs of indexed literature. Please use QConnect to link to article PDFs.
Access Web of Science
What is the Web of Science Core Collection? Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
The makers of Web of Science provide a range of video tutorials on YouTube, explaining the features and functionality of this database, including:
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) provides bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. IBSS is a key database for research on planning.
Please note: The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences includes the full text of some of the indexed articles and book chapters. Please use QConnect to link to the full text of items which are not included.
Access the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
The makers of IBSS provide an online guide, including sample searches
The Planning Architecture Design Database Ireland provides bibliographic details of journal articles, books and book chapters on all aspects of the built environment in Ireland, North and South.
Please note: The Planning Architecture Design Database Ireland does not include PDFs of indexed literature. Please use the "Search QUB Library Catalogue" link to find indexed items in QUB Library Search.
Access the Planning Architecture Design Database Ireland
The makers of Planning Architecture Design Database Ireland provide a video tutorial on YouTube
Business Source Premier provides access to more than 2,000 business journals and it is useful when you need to research commercial aspects of planning. Business Source Premiere includes journal articles, case studies, company information, SWOT analyses and market research literature. PDFs of many indexed sources are available for download.
Access Business Source Premier
ABI/Inform Global is a comprehensive business database providing access to a wide range of journals and working paper series. Like Business Source Premier (see above) ABI/Inform Global is useful for researching commercial aspects of planning. PDFs of many indexed sources are available for download.
Access ABI/Inform Global
Many of the resources on this page are subscription databases.
On-campus, students and staff will usually have free guest user access.
To access databases from off-campus:
Please note: the EThOS service is currently unavailable due to a cyber attack.