Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access: Read & Publish Deals

This guide is intended to provide advice on open access to researchers

READ AND PUBLISH DEALS

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with the American Chemical Society. The deal began on the 1st January 2022 and will end on the 31 December 2024.

 

Read

Full access to the publishers' journal portfolio.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for all research articles in all ACS journals, including ACS Omega, JACS Au, the ACS Au collection, and all ACS hybrid journals. (Includes both Hybrid and Fully OA titles)

QUB corresponding authors only.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with the American Physiological Society. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31 December 2022.

 

Read

Full access to the publishers' 12 hybrid journal titles.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in the publishers' 12 hybrid journal titles.

Full OA titles not included in the deal.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Bioscientifica. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31 December 2022.

 

Read

Access to the publishers' 5 hybrid journal titles.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in Bioscientifica's five hybrid journals.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with BMJ. The deal began on the 1st January 2022 and will end on the 31 December 2022.

 

Read

Access to BMJ's standard collection plus BMJ innovations, BMJ leader, European Journal of Hospital Pharmacy, Journal of Investigative Medicine, BMJ Supportive and Palliative Care, and the International Journal of Gynecological Cancer.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in BMJ's hybrid journal titles.

Original research articles only.

 

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Brill. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2022.

 

Read

Access to the latest full Brill journal collection.

 

Publish

Uncapped open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in all of Brill’s journals.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Bristol University Press. The deal began on the 1st January 2022 and will end on the 31st December 2023.

 

Read

Access to BUP's complete journal portfolio.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in BUP's hybrid journals.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Cambridge University Press. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2024.

 

Read

Access to the CUP journals collection.

 

Publish

Queen’s corresponding authors can publish articles with immediate open access in any CUP Gold or Hybrid journal: click here for a list of Cambridge journals covered by the agreement.

Open Access publishing will be unlimited for 2022.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a one year Read & Publish agreement with Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press. The deal began on the 1st January 2022 and will end on the 31st December 2022.

 

Read

Access to the complete collection of CSHL Press journals.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing of research articles for QUB corresponding authors in four research titles: Genes & DevelopmentGenome ResearchRNA, and Learning & Memory

Overview

The Library has signed up to a three year Read & Publish agreement with The Company of Biologists. The deal began on the 1st January 2022 and will end on the 31st December 2024.

 

Read

Access to the complete collection of journals.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in 3 hybrid journals: DevelopmentJournal of Cell ScienceThe Journal of Experimental Biology + two fully OA journals, Disease Models & mechanismsBiology Open

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with De Gruyter. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2023.

 

Read

Access to De Gruyter's 344 journal titles.

 

Publish

Open Access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in De Gruyter's hybrid journals.

Uncapped OA publishing in hybrid journals from 1st January 2022 for the remainder of the agreement.

Review articles also included with research articles from 2022. 

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Elsevier. The deal began on the 1st January 2022 and will end on the 31st December 2024.

 

Read

Read access is provided to all titles within the collection subscribed to by Queen's. 

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors publishing in Elsevier's Core-hybrid, Cell Press, and the Lancet titles (hybrid only).

Discover which Elsevier journals are participating in the agreement here.

 

Authors publishing in Elsevier's fully open access journals will have to pay an article processing charge (APC). Queen's corresponding authors are entitled to a 15% discount on the APC. Please visit Queen's Gold Open Access page to see if your research funder has provided Queen's with funds to pay your APC.

 

Overview

The Library has renewed its Read & Publish deal with the European Respiratory Society. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2023.

 

Read

Access to the European Respiratory Journal.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in the European Respiratory Journal, ERJ Open Research, & European Respiratory Review.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Future Science Group. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2022.

 

Read

Access to FSG's 20 hybrid and 15 open access journals.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with the Geological Society. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2023.

 

Read

Access to the full journal collection.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in 6 hybrid journals and 3 hybrid book series.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with the Institute of Physics (IOP). The deal began on the 1st January 2020 and will end on the 31st December 2023.

 

Read

Access to all subscription journals, owned by IOP, which offer a hybrid open access option. In addition, the agreement also includes selected journals which are published by IOP Publishing on behalf of their society partners.

 

Publish

Open Access publishing for QUB corresponding authors publishing in a IOP hybrid journal. Click here for the list of hybrid titles that are eligible.

Some IOP full OA titles included. Please enter "Institute of Physics" in the search box below to discover the full OA IOP titles.

 

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Karger. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2023.

 

Read

Access to the complete journal collection (69 subscription, 35 OA journals).

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in any hybrid or fully OA journal.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with the Microbiology Society. The deal began on the 1st January 2020 and will end on the 31st December 2024.

 

Read

Access to all Microbiology society journals.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Optica Publishing Group. This deal began on the 1st January 2022 and will end on the 31st December 2024.

 

Read 

Access to the Optica journals collection.

 

Publish

Queen’s corresponding authors can publish research & review articles with immediate open access in Optica journals (excludes Optics and Photonics News, and both partnered and legacy journals).

Open Access publishing will be unlimited for 2022

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with the Oxford University Press. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2023.

 

Read

Access to OUP's full collection.

 

Publish

QUB corresponding authors can publish a Research or Review article with immediate open access in OUP Hybrid & Gold journals

Unlimited publishing secured for 2022-23.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with PLOS. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2023.

 

Read

Access to the full collection.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in all PLOS journals.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Portland Press. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2023.

 

Read

Access to all journals.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in all 7 Portland Press journals. 

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with the Radiological Society of North America. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2022.

 

Read

Access to the society's two flagship titles: (i) Radiology (ii) Radiographics.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in Radiology.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Rockefeller University Press. The deal began in March 2020 and will end on the 31st December 2023.

 

Read

Access to RUP's three hybrid journals: Journal of Cell Biology, Journal of Experimental Medicine, Journal of General Physiology

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in RUP journals.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with the Royal College of General Practitioners. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2022.

 

Read

Access to the British Journal of General Practice.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in the British Journal of General Practice and BJGP Open.

Research articles only.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with the Royal Irish Academy. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2022.

 

Read

Access to all journals.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in all journals.

 

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with the Royal Society. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2022.

 

Read

Access to all 8 hybrid journals. 

 

Publish

Unlimited open access for QUB corresponding authors publishing in all journals.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with the Royal Society Of Chemistry. The deal began on the 1st January 2022 and will end on the 31st December 2024.

 

Read

Access to the RSC's journal collection.

 

Publish

OA article allocation - not unlimited open access publishing.

Only available to QUB corresponding authors publishing in a RSC Hybrid journal.

All peer reviewed article types are covered in this agreement which fall into three main categories: full papers, communications, and reviews.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with SAGE. The deal began on the 1st January 2020 and will end on the 31st December 2022.

 

Read

Access to SAGE's journal collection.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in SAGE hybrid journals.

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with the Springer. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2022.

 

Read

Access to all 38 academic journals from the Nature journals agreement.

 

Publish

Open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in more than 2,000 Springer hybrid journals.

 

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Taylor & Francis. The deal began on the 1st January 2021 and will end on the 31st December 2023.

 

Read

Access to Taylor & Francis group's portfolio of journals.

 

Publish

Open Access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in T&F's Open Select (hybrid) journals.

Research articles only.

Not unlimited publishing, consortium article cap applies.

 

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Thieme. The deal began on the 1st January 2022 and will end on the 31st December 2023.

 

Read

Access to Thieme's Medical and Chemistry collections.

 

Publish

Unlimited open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors in all Thieme hybrid journals.

Original and review articles covered. 

Overview

The University Library is signed up to a transformative journals agreement with Wiley. The deal began on 1st January 2020 and will end on 31 December 2023.

 

Read

Access to the Wiley journal collection.

 

Publish

A Queen's author must be the Responsible Corresponding Author (RCA) to avail of this deal.

Original research and review articles only.

Not unlimited open access publishing.

 

Overview

The Library has signed up to a Read & Publish agreement with Wolters Kluwer. The deal began on the 1st January 2022 and will end on the 31 December 2024.

 

Read

The agreement provides read and publish rights for the complete Total Access Collection of over 300 LWW medical and nursing journals including a large number of society-owned journals, available via the Ovid platform.

 

Publish

Capped open access publishing for QUB corresponding authors only.

 

Title exclusions:

Journal of the American College of Surgeons and titles within the JCO bundle are excluded from this Agreement.

Titles excluded: Journal of the American College of Surgeons, JCO Clinical Cancer Informatics, JCO Global Oncology, Journal of Clinical Oncology, JCO Oncology Practice, JCO Precision Oncology.

 

READ AND PUBLISH JOURNALS