Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives: Books & Journals

Books and Journals

The subject areas covered by the published holdings include Ulster, Ireland, History, Politics, Economics, Theology, Philosophy, Literature and Language. All titles held in Special Collections are listed in the online catalogue (see below). Readers are advised to check the catalogue for author, title and shelf mark details before coming to the Special Collections & Archives Enquiry Desk.

Bibliographies, reference books dealing with early printed and rare books, and current issues of journals are located in the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room. They are available for consultation. Bound journals must be requested at the Enquiry Desk.

A summary of Special Collections book prefixes can be found on our webpages

Search the Library Catalogue

New books for Special Collections

RASCAL

RASCAL (Research & Special Collections Available Locally) is an electronic gateway to research resources in Ireland. Collection level descriptions for some of our discrete book collections, as well as our manuscript collections can be found here. 

Finding and accessing early printed books

The full text of the majority of books published in English before 1800 are available on Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO).  The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists most books published in this period.

Contact Details

Special Collections & Archives

The McClay Library |  Queen's University Belfast | 10 College Park | Belfast | BT7 1LP

028 9097 6333 | specialcollections@qub.ac.uk

Head of Special Collections & Archives: Deirdre Wildy | 028 9097 6218 | d.wildy@qub.ac.uk