Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections Subject Guides: Jewish Collections

This subject guide provides an overview of the maps and atlases accessible through QUB Special Collections.

Jewish Resources in Special Collections - Overview

At Special Collections we have been developing our collections relating to the history of the Jewish community in Ireland, with a particular focus on Northern Ireland. This Subject Guide provides a brief overview of our holdings. 

For more information on any of these collections or to make an appointment, please email us at specialcollections@qub.ac.uk.

Irish Jewish Journals online

The Belfast Jewish Record and the Jewish Gazette are incredible resources for anyone interested in the Jewish community in Northern Ireland during the 20th century and onwards. They provide content as wide-ranging as spiritual guidance, political concerns, Rosh Hashanah recipes, children's quizzes, theological discussions, and a variety of fundraising and social events. There is some very straight-talking and plenty of humour, but what stands out clearly is the diversity of viewpoints and the vibrancy of the Jewish social scene set against the challenge of a shrinking community.

Both journals have been digitised and are now accessible online.

 

 

The Jewish Gazette (Jan – Dec 1933 and Feb 1934), published online by Queen’s in 2017, was the first journal of Jewish interest in Ireland. It was originally published in Belfast on the brink of a tragic historical era for European Jews.

 

 

 

The Belfast Jewish Record (1954 – 2015), a journal published by and for the Belfast Jewish community, is being released online for the first time in June 2019.

MS 61 Belfast Hebrew Congregation

The Belfast Hebrew Congregation has deposited its archive at Queen's Special collections. It comprises nearly a century's worth of various minutes and records from 1897. A listing is available on request.

Printed Books (Hibernica Collection)

The Hibernica collection - a substantial collection of monographs, periodicals and pamphlets of general Irish interest and/or origin, dating from the mid 19th century to the present day - includes titles relating to the Jewish community across the island of Ireland, such as memoirs, biography, history, poetry and short stories. All these titles can be found in the Queen's library catalogue and are prefixed h/.

Dr David Warm Oral Histories

Over 100 interviews with mostly Jewish refugees in Northern Ireland conducted by Dr David Warm during the 1990s as part of a research project, 'The Northern Ireland Jewish Oral and Documentary History Project'. The original cassettes and CDs have now been digitised and the audio files can be accessed by researchers in Special Collections by appointment only.

Ross-Rosenzweig Collection

Ross-Rosenzweig CollectionThis 1957 bequest by John Ross (formerly Rabbi Jacob Rosenzweig) comprises his collection of monographs, periodicals and facsimiles on or relating to a variety of Hebrew and Jewish subjects and studies.

It is a visually beautiful collection and was believed at the time to be the  most complete collection of books about the Dead Sea Scrolls in Northern Ireland, and perhaps further.

All titles in this collection can be found in the Queen's library catalogue and are prefixed t/.

MS 43 Rosenfield Collection

The Rosenfield Collection is a collection of article clippings, scripts and other miscellaneous material belonging to Judith and Rachel ‘Ray’ Rosenfield – two Jewish Belfast sisters who were journalists, writers and critics in the realms of art, drama and literature. Judith and Ray very much paved the way for female journalists in Northern Ireland.

Contact Us

Special Collections & Archives

The McClay Library |  Queen's University Belfast | 10 College Park | Belfast | BT7 1LP

028 9097 6333 | specialcollections@qub.ac.uk

Head of Special Collections & Archives: Deirdre Wildy | 028 9097 6218 | d.wildy@qub.ac.uk