Special Collections & Archives hold a large number of subject areas including Ulster, Ireland, History, Politics, Economics, Theology, Philosophy, Literature and Language. Our subject guides highlight key subject strengths within our collections. A number of routes to search our collections are offered below.
Visit our web pages for a comprehensive overview of the collections we hold and the services we offer.
Got a question? Send it to us or browse the topics to find an answer.
Special Collections & Archives
The McClay Library | Queen's University Belfast | 10 College Park | Belfast | BT7 1LP
028 9097 6333 | specialcollections@qub.ac.uk
Head of Special Collections & Archives: Deirdre Wildy | 028 9097 6218 | d.wildy@qub.ac.uk
Our Manuscript Collections can be explored through detailed listings available on our Manuscripts web page.
The University Archive can be searched through a number of resources available on our Archives web page. A number of items have been catalogued and are available on the University Archive Catalogue.
The full text of the majority of books published in English before 1800 are available on Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO). The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists most books published in this period.
Reference books dealing with early printed and rare books are also available in the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room.
Frames That Speak: Cartouches on Early Modern Maps by 
Social Memory, Reputation and the Politics of Death in the Medieval Irish Lordship by 
