Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives: Music

Biographies

Search the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography and the Dictionary of Irish Biography Online for biographical information on the musicians and composers featured below. Bunting and Moore also feature in our Eighteenth-Century Ireland Exhibition Booklet.

Sir Hamilton Harty (1879 - 1941)

Collection of holograph manuscripts of the composer and conductor, Sir Hamilton Harty, featuring full  and part scores to a range of orchestral and choral pieces composed or arranged by Harty, c 1900-  1939. Included in the collection are arrangements of Handel and Berlioz, whose performances of  which Harty was most noted, and autograph manuscripts of approx. The collection also contains an  incomplete autobiographical memoir, letters, telegrams, photographs and various typescript copies of  lectures and articles by Harty on Berlioz and piano accompaniment, c 1926-c 1936. The collection  also includes a set of 5 scrapbooks containing cuttings from newspapers and periodicals, letters,  photographs, autographs etc by or relating to Harty, compiled by his sisters-in-law, Olive and Nell  Baguley.

Harty Collection (MS14) - Listing 

Borrowing Harty Performance Sets

Listing is being revised, please contact Special Collections staff if you wish to consult this material.

A collection level description is available on RASCAL

Edward Bunting (1776 - 1843)

 

Major collection of Irish musical manuscripts, notebooks and correspondence etc concerning the work of the Irish Music Collector and Musician, Edward Bunting (1773-1843) arising out of the Belfast Harpers Festival of 1792 and published in ‘A General Collection of Ancient Irish Music’ in 1796 (revised 1809 and 1840). 
Bunting Collection (MS4) - Listing

Digitised notebooks from the Bunting Collection: MS 4/29 and MS 4/30

A collection level description is available on RASCAL

Thomas Moore (1779 - 1852)

 

Thomas Moore was one of the most prolific versatile authors of the Romantic era. The Gibson-Massie Thomas Moore Collection housed in Special Collections is believed to be the largest collection of Thomas Moore ephemera.

Search the online catalogue for Moore material held in Special Collections & Archives (denoted by the prefix Moore/ ).

A collection level description is available on RASCAL.

Havelock Nelson (1917 - 1996)

John Havelock Nelson was a bacteriologist, composer and arranger, pianist, conductor, promoter of opera, and competition adjudicator.

Search QUB Library Catalogue for music scores held in Special Collections & Archives.

Samples from our Music Collections

Contact Details

Special Collections & Archives

The McClay Library |  Queen's University Belfast | 10 College Park | Belfast | BT7 1LP

028 9097 6333 | specialcollections@qub.ac.uk

Head of Special Collections & Archives: Deirdre Wildy | 028 9097 6218 | d.wildy@qub.ac.uk