Skip to main content

Open Access: Open Access to Research - A list of useful resources

This guide is intended to provide advice on open access to researchers

Open Access to Research - A list of useful resources

Queen’s University Belfast is committed to supporting open access (OA) for the purposes of preservation, increased dissemination and potential increased impact of research.                                                   

The purpose of this guide is provide Queen’s Staff and Students with a list of resources that can provide access to freely available, scholarly papers across multi-disciplines.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 Information Resources

Coronavirus Bulletin

The Healthcare Library of Northern Ireland has collated some useful links and resources on Coronavirus (COVID-19) including advice and guidance from National and local Government, NHS and scientific resources and links.  

Most of this information is freely available online, however, some articles may be only accessible to library members.

Coronavirus Resources Feb 2020

COVID-19 Bulletin 1 April 2020

 

Publisher Resources

Wellcome and Nature are among organisations to call for Coronavirus content to be shared openly. A number of publishers have made content available - they are listed by Wellcome at: https://wellcome.ac.uk/press-release/publishers-make-coronavirus-covid-19-content-freely-available-and-reusable and by STM at: www.stm-assoc.org/about-the-industry/coronavirus-2019-ncov.  Some of the main publishers and their coronavirus free content are listed below. Many publishers have also committed to make content available through PubMedCentral.

 

Wolters Kluwer Covid-19 tools and resources

http://queens.ezp1.qub.ac.uk/login?url=http://tools.ovid.com/coronavirus/

Springer Nature (Springer, Nature,  Scientific American, BMC)
www.springernature.com/gp/researchers/campaigns/coronavirus

The New England Journal of Medicine
www.nejm.org/coronavirus

Elsevier
www.elsevier.com/connect/coronavirus-information-center

The Lancet
www.thelancet.com/coronavirus

Wiley Online Library
novel-coronavirus.onlinelibrary.wiley.com 

Taylor and Francis Group
newsroom.taylorandfrancisgroup.com/coronavirus-reading-list

JAMA Network
jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/pages/coronavirus-alert


Oxford University Press
academic.oup.com/journals/pages/coronavirus

Eurosurveillance
www.eurosurveillance.org/content/2019-ncov 

Times Higher Education

https://www.timeshighereducation.com/policy/coronavirus

AMBOSS Learning Card

https://www.amboss.com/us/knowledge/COVID-19_%28coronavirus_disease_2019%29

Queen's and Open Access

 

 

Queen's Research Portal : The University’s Institutional Repository has thousands of Queen’s publications available to read and download.

Queen's and Open Access

Queen's supports a number of fully open access publishers via publisher membership deals and institutional pre-pay accounts

Some of the fully open access publishers that Queen's currently support are listed below:

 

    BioMed CentralFully open access publisher, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.

 

   Public Library of Science: Fully open access publisher in science, technology and medicine.

     Open Library of Humanities  &    Open Book Publishers

Both academic led, not for profit, publishing platforms that support academic journals and books from across the humanities & social sciences disciplines.

Open Access to Research - CORE

 

 

 

CORE: largest aggregator of open access research papers in the world.

CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.

Open Access to Research - Directory of open access journals

‚Äč

 

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Open Access to Research - OpenDOAR

 

 

OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories.

OpenDOAR is a quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.

Open Access to Research - Open Access Button

 

 

Open Access Button: you can use this service to access free and legal research articles.

The Open Access Button does not use content from ResearchGate or Academia.edu.

Open Access to Research - UnPaywall

undefined

 

 

 

 

UnPaywall: A browser extension that provides access to an open database with over 20 million free scholarly articles

Open Access to Research 1findr

1findr contains refereed journals and journals which may not be included in existing collections and discovery systems

OpenEdition

undefined

 

OpenEdition is a comprehensive electronic infrastructure for academic communication in the humanities and social sciences. It combines four platforms dedicated to books, journals, research blogs, and academic announcements respectively.