Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives: Home

Special Collections & Archives

The Special Collections service provides access to the Library's rare and early printed book, map, and manuscript collections, as well as to more modern material relating to Ireland and Ulster in particular.

The University Archive comprises records pertaining to the history and development of Queen's from its foundation as a Queen's College in 1845 through to its establishment as an independent university in 1908 to the present day.

Visit our web pages for a comprehensive overview of the collections we hold and the services we offer. This LibGuide offers additional resource and subject guides. 

Our Reading Room is located on Floor 1 of the McClay Library. Wireless internet access is available.

PRESERVATION WORK

Due to on-going preservation work, only materials from the Hibernica (Henry) collection and boxed manuscripts are available for consultation at present. Items from the Hibernica (Henry) collection are indicated on the catalogue by the prefix h/

Urgent requests for the affected items will be checked on a case by case basis but we must be given 24 hours-notice.

Apologies for any inconvenience. 

Opening Hours

Opening Hours:

Semester Opening 2016-17:

Monday to Friday: 9.00a.m. - 7.00p.m. |  Saturday: 10.00a.m. - 5.00p.m. | Sunday: Closed

Please note that access to early printed books, manuscripts or discrete collections must be arranged in advance. Access to these materials is restricted in the evenings and at weekends.
__________________________________________________________________________

Christmas Closure:

Special Collections & Archives will be closed on the following dates:

Saturday 24th December 2016 - Monday 2nd January 2017 (inclusive)

Semester Opening will resume at 9.00a.m. on Tuesday 3rd January 2017

Collections

Maps

Tracing the Past

Manuscript Collections

A Unique Resource

Digital Resources

Reaching Out

University Archive

The History of Queen's

Contact Details

Special Collections & Archives

The McClay Library |  Queen's University Belfast | 10 College Park | Belfast | BT7 1LP

028 9097 6333 | specialcollections@qub.ac.uk

Head of Special Collections & Archives: Deirdre Wildy | 028 9097 6218 | d.wildy@qub.ac.uk

     

Library Help

Library Help

Got a question? Send it to us or browse the topics to find an answer.

Visitors

Twitter Feed