OS200 Digital Archive of Ireland's Ordnance Survey
OS200 is a 3-year project is jointly funded by the Irish Research Council (IRC) and the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC), part of a €6.5m programme of research bringing together world-leading expertise in the digital humanities across the UK and Ireland.
The project aims to gather historic Ordnance Survey (OS) maps and texts to form a single freely accessible online resource for academic and public use. This digital platform will reconnect the First Edition Six-Inch Maps with the OS Memoirs, Letters and Name Books and in doing so will enable a team of researchers from across Ireland - north and south - to uncover otherwise hidden and forgotten aspects of the life and work of those employed by the OS as they mapped and recorded landscapes and localities.
The project seeks to reconstruct an ‘ethnography’ of the OS in Ireland, looking in detail at the movements of individuals, as well as their links with others, with informants and other OS personnel, studying the timing and geography of these movements and the unfolding of OS operations across Ireland during the late-1820s through into the 1840s.
*Please note that Historic Digimap does not include Northern Ireland maps*
This resource allows you to view, annotate and print historic maps of mainland Great Britain.
Historic Digimap contains map data at scales ranging from 1:10,560 to 1:500 and dates ranging from 1843 to 1996; available for
You will need to register with EDINA Digimap before you can access their collections.
If you have any problems accessing Digimap, please email digimap@qub.ac.uk
Maps of the escheated counties of Ireland 1609, via Digital Special Collections & Archives, is an atlas containing 31 facsimiles of maps of Ireland ca. 1594-1609. It was published by the Southampton Ordnance Survey office under the direction of Sir Henry James R E in 1861.
| Ewart Map Collection, via Digital Special Collections & Archives, contains approximately 150 original maps and facsimiles of printed and manuscript maps of Ireland; provinces and counties of Ireland; and individual places in Ireland, ca 1567-1900. |
The Historic Environment Map Viewer allows you to view the locations of built heritage sites in Northern Ireland from the Department for Communities, based on mapping provided by OSNI.
The National Monuments Service Historic Environment Viewer is a free-to-use digital service provided by the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage in the Republic of Ireland.