Archaeology & Palaeoecology: Newspapers

Part I: 1800-1900
Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, publications in Part I span a vast range of national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stewart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.

Part II: 1800-1900
Part II further expands the range of English regional newspapers and the political views represented in the programme. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of significant towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, helps capture conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.

19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.

America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth.

The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

The Financial Times Historical Archive is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper, since it was first published in 1888, can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.

Database of national and regional Irish newspapers from 1800-2021. Includes the Radical Archive of newspapers.

Contains exact reproductions of all articles published by the Irish Times from 1859 onwards

NewsVault cross-searches QUB's collection of Gale historical newspapers and newspaper collections.

LexisNexis provides access to a wide range of news and business sources.

A resource for 19th century studies, NCCO is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

The official journal for British consular notifications and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council - a reference source for information and comment on a range of foreign and Chinese activities from around 1850 to the 1940s.

The Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 provides access to back issues of The Times and its predecessor, the Daily Universal Register (1785-1787). The Times Digital Archive takes the microfilm collection of The Times (London), producing a high-resolution digital format with every complete page of every issue full-text searchable - every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement. The Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 enables access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 19th, 20th and early 21st century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more.

The Vogue Archive contains the full run of past issues (400,000 pages) and is updated monthly with the current issue.