Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Journal Articles

Library support for the School of Psychology

Finding a specific journal article from a reference or reading list

If you wish to find the full text of a specific journal article (ie where you have the name of the author, title of the article, title of journal, volume number, page numbers etc), you can do this by searching the library catalogue at www.qub.ac.uk/lib. Make sure you search for the title of the journal, not the title of the article. See video below on Finding journal articles.

Most of our current journal subscriptions are available as electronic journals, but we also have print runs of older journal issues in the library. Print journals are kept on mobile shelves on each floor of the library; see video on Using the mobile shelving

 

Finding journal articles

Finding articles on a topic

 

The Library home page has a tab for Article Search which searches across all the full text journals which the Library subscribes to. You can search with keywords and then apply criteria to focus your results. This is a quick way to find good quality peer reviewed articles in full text.

The Library also provides access to a wide range of subject specific databases. These databases contain references and abstracts of journal articles and other relevant resources and they are the best way of finding literature on your subject. You will find the most relevant databases for Psychology here.

Using the mobile shelving for print journals

Canvas

Scanned readings

Some journal articles on your reading lists may be available under the relevant module code in Canvas. Ask your lecturer or contact me (c.a.dunlop@qub.ac.uk) if you have any queries about these readings. 

QUB.

Help

If you are having problems searching the library catalogue/Article Search or if you need help finding articles for an assignment, please contact me at c.a.dunlop@qub.ac.uk or phone 028 9097 6271.

Training for Postgraduate students

If you are a postgraduate student and you would like to know more about finding relevant journal articles, you may be interested in the following training courses:

Psychology: Introduction to Literature Searching 

Psychology: Literature Searching for a Systematic Review