Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can use Article Search on the library home page to quickly find some journal articles for your undergraduate assignments. However, if you are doing a large scale research project or dissertation, it is recommended that you use one of the library's bibliographic databases. Searching databases is a more effective way of finding relevant articles on a topic as they have more sophisticated search options and will search across a wider range of journals than Article Search.
Key bibliographic database relevant to Psychology - PsycInfo
The key bibliographic database relevant to Psychology is PsycInfo. This is the best database to start with when you are doing your literature search.
Tip: Before you search PsycInfo, have a look at the separate page on Searching PsycInfo. PsycInfo is set up slightly differently from the other databases and can cause confusion until you understand how it works. It is worth learning how to use it properly because it will improve the accuracy of your search results.
If you need any help, please contact me at email@example.com
PsycINFO (1806 - present) PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PsycINFO (2002 - present) PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
Other bibliographic databases relevant to Psychology
Some of the other bibliographic databases relevant to Psychology are listed below; these range from large multidisciplinary databases (eg Scopus, Web of Science), to small and specialised databases (eg PTSDpubs).
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This database is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927-2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.
CINAHL Plus Covers nursing and allied health literature from 1982 to the present. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and proceedings. Full text is included for selected state nursing journals and some newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).
EMBASE Ovid database, covering biomedical and extensive amounts of pharmacological research dating back to 1974.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
Medline ALL Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide.
PTSDpubs Provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Scopus SCOPUS is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers nearly 20,000 academic journals from a wide range of subjects and dates from 1996 to the present. SCOPUS will also be the source of the citation data which will be used by some of the Research Excellence Framework (REF) assessment panels. As well as carrying out literature searches, you can set up current awareness alerts, view citation counts, determine your h-index and assess the quality of journal titles. SCOPUS is part of the SciVerse suite of resources which is produced by Elsevier and includes the ScienceDirect electronic journals service.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - current) This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
Web of Science Access to citation databases, journals and conference proceedings with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index.
Databases relevant to other subjects
The full range of databases available at QUB can be found in the Databases A-Z list, but note that this list will contain journal and e-book databases as well as bibliographic databases; bibliographic databases are the best way to find articles on a topic as they search across a wide range of journals.
Obtaining full text journal articles
Where QUB has a subscription to the e-journal, you will be able to link through to the full text from the database, but please note that you will not get the full text for all records retrieved in a bibliographic database search.
If the journal is not available electronically, you can then check the Library Catalogue on the Library homepage to see if we have the journal in print format. If we don't have it in either electronic or print format, you will need to use our Inter Library Loan service to obtain the full text article.
For undergraduate students, there should be sufficient full text journals available via the QUB system and you will not normally need to request articles via the Inter Library Loan scheme. If you are having problems finding relevant journal articles, I will be happy to help. Contact me at firstname.lastname@example.org
Cited reference searching
If you find a journal article that is particularly relevant to your research, a simple way of finding similar articles is to look for ones which have referred to your original; you can do this in most bibliographic databases.
Keeping up to date
The ZETOC and Journal TOCs services will email you the tables of contents of new journal issues as they are published. They cover a wide range of subjects and you can select multiple journals.
You can also set up email alerts within bibliographic databases to find out what new articles are being published in your area of interest; check out the Help screens in each database for instructions of how to do this.