Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How can I access standards?
The library has online subscriptions to:
- British Standards: You can a download PDFs of most British Standards from the British Standards Online (BSOL) database, including
- current, draft and historic British Standards
- BSI national adoptions of European standards (prefix BS EN)
- selected international standards (prefixes BS ISO, BS IEC, BS EN ISO, BS EN IEC, BS EN ISO/IEC)
- Eurocodes: You can download PDFs of Eurocodes from the British Standards Online (BSOL) database (see above)
- IEEE Standards: Your can download PDFs of a range of IEEE standards from the IEEEXplore site.
If you need to access a standard which is not available via the library's online subscriptions, you can request it via the Inter-Library Loans Service.
If you have any difficulty identifying or obtaining standards, please contact your Subject Librarian.
What if I need an ISO or an IEC standard?
QUB library does not subscribe to ISO or IEC standards, but the British Standards Online database includes ISO and IEC standards which have been adopted as British standards (e.g. BS EN ISO, BS ISO, BS EN IEC, BS IEC).
Search the British Standards Online database, to see if the relevant ISO or IEC standard has been adopted as a British standard. You can search by the standard number (e.g. ISO 21222:2020) or by the title of the standard. If the ISO or IEC standard has been adopted as a British standard, you should find the relevant British standard (e.g. BS ISO 21222:2020) in the list of search results. If there is an adopted version of the standard, you should be able to download the PDF.
European Standards (EN) are standards that have been ratified by CEN, CENELEC or ETSI. They have the status of a national standard in all member countries of the European Union. Access to the full text of all BS ENs including Eurocodes is available via the British Standards Online database
Other national standards
Information about other national standards. Please note that full-text access is not included.
Information about international standards. Please note that full-text access is not included.
Information about standards published by various organizations. Members of QUB have full-text access to a range of IEEE standards. Other standards can be requested via Inter-Library Loan.
How can I find Eurocodes?
You can download PDFs of Eurocodes from the British Standards Online (BSOL) database where they are listed under their BS EN number.
Not sure which BS EN number to search for?
Find a list of the Eurocodes and their corresponding BS EN numbers here.
How can I find patents?
The Library does not hold copies of patents but many are freely available in full text from the patents sites listed below. If you cannot access a patent you require, you can request it via Inter-Library Loan.
Searching for patents can be tricky and there is is a network of Patent Libraries offering information and competent advice. Contact the PATLIB CENTRE BELFAST to find out what help is available locally.
IPO - Intellectual Property Office
The IPO is the UK official body for the granting of patents. Look here for information about all kinds of intellectual property rights (copyright, design right, trademarks, patents) and for clear advice on making a UK patent application.
EPO - European Patent Office
The EPO website provides information about the European patent application procedure and has links to each member country's patent-granting body.
Espacenet is a European network of patent databases which provides free online access to patents and patent applications. Each member state has an espacenet service in its own language (e.g. gb.espacenet.com, fr.espacenet.com) which provides access to national and European patents as well as to the EPO's worldwide database of patent publications from more than 80 different countries. Use espacenet to access the full text of British, European and Worldwide patents.
USPTO - US Patent and Trademark Office
The USPTO is the federal agency for granting US patents. In addition to providing information about US patents and patent law, it gives online access to US patents and patent applications.
WIPO - World Intellectual Property Organization
This UN organization promotes the protection of intellectual property worldwide. The site includes the Patentscope search service which allows full-text searching of almost 2 million international patent applications.