Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil and Structural Engineering: Journal articles / papers

Finding journal articles and research papers

If you want to do a quick search for a few journal articles, use Article Search or an ejournal package such as Science Direct, the ICE Virtual Library or the ASCE Research Library. They will deliver the full-text immediately.
 
If you need to conduct a comprehensive review of the literature, search the databases listed below, as they have wider coverage and more sophisticated search options.
 
Some of the databases contain full-text documents, but for those which don't, you will need to use the QConnect service to link from the database to the full-text hosted on another platform. 
 
The databases cover many more items than are available from QUB Library. If you find documents which you cannot access, you can request them via the Inter-Library Loans service.

Key databases

Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers nearly 20,000 academic journals from a wide range of subjects and it is particularly useful for researching engineering-related topics. Does not include PDFs of indexed literature. Please use QConnect to link to article PDFs.

Scopus tutorials (video / text-only)

The Web of Science gives access to citation databases, journals and conference proceedings with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts, and humanities. A good complement to Scopus. Does not include PDFs of indexed literature. Please use QConnect to link to article PDFs.

Web of Science Tutorial: Web of Science - Search Tips (YouTube)

The Construction Information Service provides access to a wide range of technical documents, JCT contracts, reports and publications from professional bodies related to UK building regulations, construction management, building and landscape design. PDFs of most indexed sources are available for download.

Find out how to sign in to the Construction Information Service on the Technical papers, reports, contracts tab of this guide.

The Planning, Architecture and Design Database Ireland (PADDI) provides bibliographic details of journal articles, books and book chapters on all aspects of the built environment in Ireland, North and South. Does not include PDFs of indexed literature.

PADDI tutorial (YouTube)

ABI/Inform Global is a comprehensive business database providing access to a wide range of journals and working paper series. Useful for researching commercial aspects of construction. PDFs of many indexed sources are available for download.

Business Source Premier  provides access to more than 2,000 business journals. Company information and market research literature is also available. Useful for researching commercial aspects of construction. PDFs of many indexed sources are available for download.

Access is via the Engineering Village platform. Comprehensive engineering database indexing journals and conference proceedings on all aspects of civil engineering published between 1884 and 1969. Search Scopus or the Web of Science for more recent content. Does not include PDFs of indexed literature. Please use QConnect to link to article PDFs.

Specify-it is a continually updated database of full text catalogues and technical specifications from UK suppliers (and overseas suppliers with recognised UK agents) of building components and equipment for the construction industry.

Ejournal packages

Full-text journals and conference proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Full-text access to publications from the Institution of Civil Engineers.

Provides access to back issues of a wide range of journals.

Access to journals published by Elsevier, including full text access to journals subscribed to by Queen's.

Full-text access to the complete run of The Structural Engineer from 1923 to the present.

Looking for a specific journal?

All the Library's ejournals are included in the A-Z List: 

Hardcopy journals

Journals from previous years are kept in the Journals Back Issues area opposite the main stairs on each floor. Go to:

  • Floor 1 for shelfmarks A-H
  • Floor 2 for shelfmarks I-P
  • Floor 3 for shelfmarks Q-Z

Current journals with shelfmarks A-P are kept on the sloping shelves on Floor1 but those with shelfmarks Q-Z are kept with the back issues.

Keeping Up to Date

The ZETOC service will email you the tables of contents of new journal issues as they are published. It covers a wide range of subjects and you can select multiple journals.