For a comprehensive search of the research literature use one or more of the key databases (below).
The databases will provide information about articles and papers, but often they do not include the PDFs of the articles. You can use the QConnect service to link to the full-text of articles and papers in the library's subscriptions.
Please note: The key databases cover many more items than are included in the Library's subscriptions. If you find a paper which you cannot access online because the library doesn't subscribe to it, you may be able to request a copy via the Inter-Library Loans service.
Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers around 20,000 academic journals from a wide range of subjects and it is particularly useful for researching engineering-related topics. Scopus does not include PDFs of indexed literature. Please use QConnect to link to article PDFs.
Access Scopus
The makers of Scopus provide a range of online video tutorials explaining the features and functionality of this database, including:
The Web of Science gives access to citation databases, journals and conference proceedings with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It is a good complement to Scopus. The Web of Science database does not include PDFs of indexed literature. Please use QConnect to link to article PDFs.
Access Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection: Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
The makers of Web of Science provide a range of video tutorials on YouTube, explaining the features and functionality of this database, including:
The Construction Information Service provides access to a wide range of technical documents, reports and publications from professional bodies related to UK building regulations, construction management, building and landscape design. PDFs of most indexed sources are available for download.
Access the Construction Information Service
Please note: While British Standards are listed in the Construction Information Service database, the documents are not included. You can access these standards via the British Standards Online database instead. Check the "Standards and Eurocodes" tab of this guide for more information.
The EI Compendex Backfile is useful when you need to find older journal articles and conference papers, which were published between 1884 and 1969. It covers all areas of engineering and includes many papers which are not listed in Scopus or the Web of Science. Search Scopus or the Web of Science if you need to find more recent papers.
The Compendex backfile is accessed via the Engineering Village platform. The Compendex backfile does not include PDFs of indexed literature. Please use QConnect to link to article PDFs.
Access EI Compendex Backfile (1884-1969) via the Engineering Village platform
Business Source Premier is useful when you need to research commercial aspects of building and construction. The database provides access to articles from more than 2,000 business journals and it also includes case studies, company information, SWOT analyses and market research literature. PDFs of many indexed sources are available for download.
Access Business Source Premier
ABI/Inform Global is a comprehensive business database providing access to a wide range of journals and working paper series. Like Business Source Premier (see above) ABI/Inform Global is useful for researching commercial aspects of building and construction. PDFs of many indexed sources are available for download.
Access ABI/Inform Global
The Planning, Architecture Design Database Ireland provides bibliographic details of journal articles, books and book chapters on all aspects of the built environment in Ireland, North and South. It does not include PDFs of indexed literature.
Access the Planning, Architecture Design Database Ireland
For tips on how to search the Planning, Architecture Design Database Ireland check this video tutorial (YouTube)
Specify-it is a continually updated database of full text catalogues and technical specifications from UK suppliers (and overseas suppliers with recognised UK agents) of building components and equipment for the construction industry.
Many of the resources on this page are subscription databases.
On-campus, students and staff will usually have free guest user access.
To access databases from off-campus:
Please note: the EThOS service is currently unavailable due to a cyber-attack.
Contact your subject librarian Irene Bittles (email: i.bittles@qub.ac.uk ; tel: 028 9097 6277) or have a look at the library's E-Resource access and troubleshooting guide