Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences subject guide
This subject guide tells you how to connect to your Subject Librarian, and provides direct links to key databases and other Library resources relevant to Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences.
Contact your Subject Librarian
Your Subject Librarian can provide:
- Library training
- Literature search planning
- Reference management advice
Also, contact him if you would like request resources (e.g. books or journals) for the Library.
Subject Librarian for Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
028 9097 8900
Click below to view the current awareness bulletins that Richard prepares on a bi-monthly basis for QUB research areas. Bulletins are available as PDFs, and as collections on the Read by QxMD app.
Virtual drop-in clinic (via Teams)
Call in to this virtual drop-in session if you have a quick library, resource or referencing query. Link to join the session will appear below shortly before start time. Join at any stage between the times given above.
Link to join the session will appear here
Upcoming training sessions
Click the links below to register. All training delivered via MS Teams.
Ovid Databases: QUB Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Web of Science & Scopus: QUB Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
EndNote: QUB Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Use bibliographic databases to search through millions of articles from 1,000s of journals.
The 'Big 4' databases
The best place to start when you are carrying out a literature review.
Medline ALL Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide.
EMBASE Ovid database, covering biomedical and extensive amounts of pharmacological research dating back to 1974.
Web of Science Access to citation databases, journals and conference proceedings with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index.
Scopus SCOPUS is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers nearly 20,000 academic journals from a wide range of subjects and dates from 1996 to the present. SCOPUS will also be the source of the citation data which will be used by some of the Research Excellence Framework (REF) assessment panels. As well as carrying out literature searches, you can set up current awareness alerts, view citation counts, determine your h-index and assess the quality of journal titles. SCOPUS is part of the SciVerse suite of resources which is produced by Elsevier and includes the ScienceDirect electronic journals service.
You might want to search these in addition to the 'Big 4', depending on the topic, and scope, of your search. Other resources are listed in our Databases A-Z.
All Ovid databases Access, and cross-search, all Ovid databases subscribed to by Queen's, including MEDLINE, EMBASE and PsycINFO
CINAHL Plus Covers nursing and allied health literature from 1982 to the present. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and proceedings. Full text is included for selected state nursing journals and some newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).
Medline (last 5 years) Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Medline In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations Includes new references that have not been added to the main MEDLINE database yet. A good place to look instead of PubMed for medicine and life science pre-publication references. Please note: works best with keyword searches only.
PsycINFO (1806 - present) PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PsycINFO (2002 - present) PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PubMed PubMed is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature, maintained by the US National Library of Medicine. Search this special version of PubMed instead of going directly to https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed to link to full text of articles in journals subscribed to by QUB (denoted by presence of QConnect button).
Zetoc Electronic table of contents from the British Library. Available free of charge to UK further and higher education institutions sponsered by JISC.
Click the links below to search within individual publisher websites for articles from journals subscribed to by the Library.
You can also access journal articles via QCat Article Search and the E-Journals A-Z on the Library website.
Cambridge University Press Provides access to the full text of articles published in Cambridge University Press journals to which the Library subscribes.
Oxford University Press Provides access to the full text of articles published in Oxford University Press journals to which the Library subscribes.
SAGE Journals Provides full text access to articles published in SAGE journals to which the Library subscribes.
ScienceDirect Journals Access to journals published by Elsevier. Check 'detailed holdings' for Queen's subscriptions.
Springer Journals Provides access to the full text of articles published in Springer journals to which the Library subscribes.
Taylor and Francis Online Journals Access to journals published by Taylor & Francis and subscribed to by Queen's.
Wiley Provides full text access to articles in journals published by Wiley/Wiley-Blackwell and subscribed to by the Library.
Grey literature is research material that isn’t formally published in a journal or a book. Some useful sources of grey literature are listed below.
Clinical trial registries
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I Provides 4.5 million master’s and PhD theses (abstract and citation) from universities around the world; access to the first 24 pages of each graduate work; 200,000 graduate works added every year; 270,000 A&I works added from 40 of China’s most prestigious universities, with English abstracts (2017); 3,100 universities and programs material included and abstract and index works dating back to 1637.