Modern Languages & Translation: Spanish & Portuguese - Web Links

El Diccionario de la lengua española (DRAE) es la obra de referencia de la Academia. La edición actual —la 22.ª, publicada en 2001— incluye más de 88 000 entradas.

El Diccionario panhispánico de dudas (DPD), cuya primera edición impresa —octubre de 2005— se puede consultar aquí, da respuesta, desde el punto de vista de la norma culta actual, a las dudas lingüísticas más habituales (ortográficas, léxicas y gramaticales) que plantea el uso del español.

El Nuevo diccionario histórico del español (NDHE), cuya primera muestra de consulta electrónica ya está disponible en la Red, busca presentar de un modo organizado la evolución del léxico español a lo largo del tiempo.

Europeana is the trusted source of cultural heritage brought to you by the Europeana Foundation and a large number of European cultural institutions, projects and partners

The Fundación Juan March organizes art exhibitions, concerts, lecture series, and seminars. It has a sizeable online archive, notably all catalogues from exhibitions since 1973, a database of all concerts given at the Foundation since 1975 and a database of all lectures given at the Foundation since 1975, many with audio.

Organisation which promotes Spanish language and culture.

LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.

Dialnet is a Spanish database that indexes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, theses and monographs published in Spain. Subject coverage is diverse - from science, technology, law and business to art, history, language and literature. Access to the content differs on a case by case basis. Many of the journals and documents can be accessed directly from Dialnet, whilst other items have links to external websites where the full text is held. There are also some instances where Dialnet only contains the bibliographic record (e.g. title, page numbers, ISBN) and doesn't have the full text available.

BDPI is a project of the Asociación de Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica (ABINIA). Sources include documents, books, maps, pictures, newspapers and music.

The National Library of Chile containing a large number of digital collections.

The Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes is a large-scale digital library project, hosted and maintained by the University of Alicante in Alicante, Spain. Subjects covered include Spanish language, literature, history and science.

A collection of electronic texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.

From the Library of Congress. A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly monographs, journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and electronic resources dealing with Latin America.

Links to the digitised collections of Luso-Hispanic interest in the Library of Congress.

A Chilean cultural website which "offers investigations and documents related to key topics which make up the Chilean identity, accessible through the areas of history, literature, social sciences, music, and visual arts".

Selected Internet Sources from the Latin American Collection at Yale University

Over 13,000 pages of digitised files from the archive collection of the Trades Union Congress, including correspondence, minutes, reports, memoranda and propaganda material.

An overview of archival material held in the UK related to the Spanish Civil War.