Modern Languages & Translation: Translation and Interpreting - Web Links

The IoL is a UK-based body for professional translators, interpreters, language educationalists and those using languages in industry and commerce. Includes code of professional conduct.

Independent professional association of practising translators and interpreters in the UK and one of the primary sources of information on these services to government, industry, the media and the general public.

Professional register that aims to provide public service organisations and agencies access to professional, qualified and quality assured interpreters.

Worldwide association for conference interpreters that currently has members in 96 countries.

FIT is a federation of translators’ associations and publishes the academic journal, Babel and their newsletter, Translatio.

Professional association based in Boston, US. Includes standard of practice for medical interpreters and, although primarily US focused, provides useful resources and links.

Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content.

Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation (BITRA).
This site comprises more than 24,000 entries (books, chapters, articles, journals, dissertations), with more than 3,000 including abstracts and more than 1,000 including tables of contents, making up a database on translation and interpreting created in June 2001, and assembled and coordinated by Javier Franco. BITRA is updated every month.

The Index Translationum is a list of books translated in the world, i.e. an international bibliography of translations. The Index Translationum was created in 1932.