The Learning Development Service (LDS) provides a range of services to staff and students to facilitate their ability to learn, including online materials, workshops and one-to-one appointments with undergraduate students. The LDS has a large library of online resources covering writing, planning, time management, referencing and plagiarism, critical reading and writing and exam preparation among many other topics, available at http://www.qub.ac.uk/directorates/sgc/learning/
If you need help in getting started with using EndNote reference management software, please see the video tutorial below.
Welcome to the LibGuide for the School of Biological Sciences.
This guide is designed to help you find and use the library resources most useful for your subject or research. As your Subject Librarian, I am available to provide:
Please use the tabs above to navigate this LibGuide. If you have any questions at all, please get in touch. I can meet via Microsoft Teams or in-person if you have any questions or need assistance in getting started with Library resources.
Although I am based at the Medical Library, I am more than happy to visit all Queen's University sites as required.
This session will introduce attendees to QUB Library’s range of resources and services, including:
- Library facilities and services available.
- Using Library Search to locate resources, including e-books and full-text journal articles.
- Requesting interlibrary loans.
- Accessing key databases for finding academic literature.
- Downloading EndNote reference management software.
Bookings for this event may be made via MyFuture or via the links below.
This training session is suitable for new EndNote users and gives participants practical skills in using EndNote reference management software to store references to support their research. This session covers:
- Creating and backing up an EndNote library
- Creating and importing new references from a range of resources relevant to Biological Sciences
- Organising your references and managing your library
- Working with PDF documents
- Using the Cite-While-You-Write plugin to automatically create citations and bibliographies in Word.
Bookings for this event may be made via MyFuture or via the links below.
Friday 8th November – McClay Library Training Room 2 - 1.00pm to 3.00pm
Thursday 21st November – Teams – 10.00am to 11.30am
Wednesday 4th December – McClay Library Training Room 2 - 10.00am to 12.00pm
During this session you will develop skills enabling you to effectively carry out literature searches using two key databases. This session covers:
- Developing a systematic search strategy.
- Accessing and using two key databases – Web of Science and Scopus.
- Searching and utilising key features of each database.
- Saving searches and setting alerts.
- Exporting database results.
Bookings for this event may be made via MyFuture or via the links below
Friday 1st November – Teams – 10.00am to 11.00am
Wednesday 27th November – McClay Library Training Room 2 - 1.00pm to 2.30pm
During this session you will develop skills enabling you to effectively carry out literature searches using two key databases. This session covers:
- Developing a systematic search strategy.
- Accessing and using two key databases – MEDLINE and EMBASE.
- Searching and utilising key features of each database.
- Saving searches.
- Exporting database results.
Bookings for this event may be made via MyFuture or via the links below.
Tuesday 12th November – Teams – 10.00am to 11.00am
Monday 18th November – McClay Library Training Room 2 - 1.00pm to 2.30pm
