Skip to Main Content

Biological Sciences: Home

Getting Started with EndNote

Looking for Academic Skills Support?

The Learning Development Service (LDS) provides a range of services to staff and students to facilitate their ability to learn, including online materials, workshops and one-to-one appointments with undergraduate students.  The LDS has a large library of online resources covering writing, planning, time management, referencing and plagiarism, critical reading and writing and exam preparation among many other topics, available at http://www.qub.ac.uk/directorates/sgc/learning/

If you need help in getting started with using EndNote reference management software, please see the video tutorial below.

Welcome to the LibGuide for the School of Biological Sciences. 

This guide is designed to help you find and use the library resources most useful for your subject or research. As your Subject Librarian, I am available to provide:

  • advice on searching for and locating library resources.
  • training on using specific databases relevant to biological sciences.
  • assistance in building a literature search.
  • support with using EndNote reference management software.

Please use the tabs above to navigate this LibGuide.  If you have any questions at all, please get in touch.  I can meet via Microsoft Teams or in-person if you have any questions or need assistance in getting started with Library resources.

Although I am based at the Agri-Food Biosciences Library on Newforge Lane, I am more than happy to visit all Queen's University sites as required.

Upcoming Library Training Events - Semester One 2023-24

Library training events are delivered both in-person and via Microsoft Teams.  Please visit MyFuture or email to book your place. 

Introduction to the QUB Library for Biological Sciences

this session will introduce attendees to QUB Library’s range of resources and services:

  • Library facilities and services available.
  • How to use the QUB Library catalogue to locate and request material.
  • Using Article Search to find full-text journal articles.
  • Requesting interlibrary loans.
  • Accessing key databases for finding biological sciences literature.
  • Downloading EndNote reference management software.

 

2.00pm to 2.30pm
Thursday 26th October 2023
Microsoft Teams

2.00pm to 2.30pm
Tuesday 7th November 2023
Microsoft Teams

Searching databases – MEDLINE and EMBASE

During this session you will develop skills enabling you to effectively carry out literature searches using two key databases relevant to Biological Sciences - MEDLINE and EMBASE:

  • Developing a systematic search strategy
  • Accessing and using two key life sciences databases – MEDLINE and EMBASE.
  • Searching and utilising key features of each database.
  • Saving searches and exporting database results
     

2.00pm to 3.30pm
Thursday 9th November 2023
McClay Library Training Room 2

10.00am to 11.30am
Friday 24th November 2023
Microsoft Teams

Searching Databases – Web of Science and Scopus

During this session you will develop skills enabling you to effectively carry out literature searches using two key databases relevant to Biological Sciences - Web of Science and Scopus:

  • Developing a systematic search strategy
  • Accessing and using two key life sciences databases – Web of Science and Scopus.
  • Searching and utilising key features of each database.
  • Saving searches and exporting database results

2.00pm to 3.30pm
Monday 20th November 2023
McClay Library Training Room 2

10.00am to 11.30am
Tuesday 5th December 2023
Microsoft Teams

Getting Started with EndNote

This training session is suitable for new EndNote users and gives participants practical skills in using EndNote reference management software to store references to support their research.
Course content includes:

  • Creating and backing up an EndNote library
  • Creating and importing new references from a range of resources relevant to Biological Sciences
  • Organising your references and managing your library
  • Working with pdf documents
  • Using the Cite-While-You-Write plugin to automatically create citations and bibliographies in Word.

2.00pm to 3.30pm
Thursday 2nd November 2023
McClay Library Training Room 2

10.00am to 11.30am
Thursday 16th November 2023
McClay Library Training Room 2

2.00pm to 3.30pm
Friday 1st December 2023
Microsoft Teams

 

Your Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Patrick Elliott
Contact:
AFBI Library
AFBI Headquarters
18 Newforge Lane
Belfast BT9 5PX

Library Help

Type your question here: