The McClay Library holds copies of all Queen's University PhD theses.
You can search for them in the Library Catalogue: search for a topic, then filter your search results by Source Types: Dissertations/Theses. You can recognise theses by their distinctive shelfmark, e.g. T/q 1999.S4.
You can also use Advanced Search in the Classic Library Catalogue and limit your search to Material Type: Queen's Thesis to find QUB PhD theses.
The theses are kept in the library store and can be requested using the Request button in the library catalogue. Alternatively, you can complete a request form at one of the library's Enquiry Desks. Theses may not be borrowed, but can be read in the library.
A small number of recent QUB PhD theses can be accessed online via the Queen's Research Portal.
Please note: the Library does not collect QUB undergraduate and masters dissertations. Please contact the relevant School if you are trying to locate one.
UK and Ireland
Universities listed here have agreed to make their theses freely available through EThOS. If you need a thesis from a UK or Ireland university which is not participating in the scheme, please request it through the Inter-Library Loans service.
The websites listed on this page provide free online access to theses. It is only possible to obtain theses which must be paid for in exceptional circumstances: please consult your Subject Librarian.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (trial access)
Collection of full-text dissertations and PhD theses from around the world, including from UK and Irish universities
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A&I
Index and abstracts of 4.5 million master’s and PhD theses from universities around the world, including from UK and Irish universities
EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service) replaced the British Library Thesis Service in 2009. Theses from participating universities are digitised on demand, after which they are available for free download.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
Access to the full-text of a large and growing number of theses from over 520 universities in 27 European countries.
DiVA portal is a finding tool and an institutional repository for theses written at Swedish universities and colleges.
NARCIS National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System
NARCIS is the gateway to theses from universities in the Netherlands.
With PQDT Open, you can read the full text of US open-access dissertations and theses free of charge.
Theses Canada portal
Theses Canada provides an index of all theses produced at Canadian universities and free PDFs of theses produced since 1998. Search tips for finding theses via the Theses Canada portal
Trove documents Australia’s research effort, bringing together articles, books, theses and data sets. Currently Trove includes the details of more than 300,000 theses submitted in, or relating to, Australia. Search tips for finding theses via Trove
National ETD Portal
Full-text access to South African theses and dissertations.
NDLTD (Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations)
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations.
OATD (Open Access Theses and Dissertations)
An international database giving free access to over 2 million theses and dissertations.
EBSCO Open Dissertations
This database gives free access to the full text of open access dissertations and theses.